Cherokee County Students Take State and Region Honors in Tech Competition | Local News

Students in the Cherokee County School District have won regional and national accolades in the annual Georgia Student Technology Competition.

The state-wide competition gives students in Grades 3 through 12 the chance to showcase their skills in 16 categories and compete for honors at regional and national fairs.

Six CCDS students placed first, second or third at the statewide event: First Place, Marissa Migneco, Graphic Design, Etowah High School, Grade 9; second place, Micah Kampman, Audio Production, Johnston Elementary School, grade 4; Ryan Wexler, Project Programming, Indian Knoll Elementary School, Grade 4; and Daniel McCrobie, graduated from the class of 2021 of Sequoyah high school, 3D modeling; third place; Cherokee High School 2021 graduate Isabella Ayala, Internet Applications; and Paxton Miller, Multimedia Applications, Indian Knoll Elementary School, Grade 5.

Eighty-six CCSD students put their technological skills to the test at the Piedmont Regional Technology Competition. The regional event was organized and led by Shannon Carroll, CCDS Instructional Technology Supervisor, and Jeff Pence, CCDS Instructional Technology Specialist.

Thirty-six CCSD students took first place in their respective categories at the regional competition, which qualified them for the state competition which was held virtually in May, with entries of 870 students from all over the world. the state.

“Learning STEM is critically important to many career choices for our future graduates, and we pride ourselves on our students’ successes in regional and national technology competitions. Congratulations! “Superintendent Brian Hightower said in a statement.” We also congratulate their teachers, who we know have taken the extra time to mentor students on these projects, and to Shannon and Jeff for all of their hard work. coordination of the regional event. “

The first place winners from the CCSD region are:

Arnold Mill Elementary School: Mason Harris, 3D modeling

Avery Elementary School: Jaxson Pollard, Graphic Design; Kaitlyn Massey, Multimedia Applications; Dakota Calhoun, graphic design; Cameron Hale, Video Production

Cherokee High School: Isabella Ayala, Internet Applications

Clark Creek Elementary School STEM Academy: Arcadian Freund, game design

Creekland Middle School: Jason Schmidt and Luke Dooley, Aircraft Modification; Bradlee Rodriguez, Digital Photo Production; Samuel Mattick and Caleb Mattick, game design; Chase Atkins and Nate Hancock, Robotics

Etowah High School: Nicholas Knerr, Game Design; Marissa Migneco, Graphic design

Hickory Flat Elementary School: Taylor Throne, video production

Indian Knoll Elementary School: Parker O’Neill, Digital Photo Production; Adalynn Wells, Productivity Concept; Ryan Wexler, project programming; Paxton Miller, Multimedia Applications

Johnston Elementary School: Micah Kampman, audio production; Carlianne Timbol and Lola Brown, 3D Modeling

Liberty Elementary School: Logan Kettle and Joshua McGraw, Game Design; Mical Mershon, Animation

Oak Grove Elementary School Academy of Fine Arts: Morgan Bailey, animation; Jaxson Young and Julia Creamer, Robotics; Joseph Watson, Robotics

Sequoyah High School: Daniel McCrobie, 3D Modeling; Brett Lougheed, Project Programming

Sixes Primary School: Ethan Patti, Device Modification

Woodstock Middle School: David Holbrook, Mobile Apps; Yusra Kamal, Project Programming

Source link

Previous Rotary's economy is rebounding, but region and country are lagging behind
Next Waterloo Region District School Board appoints new Director of Education - Kitchener

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *